Brussel Sprout & Kale Salad

Since today was a day spent out & about, I didn’t have enough time to prepare an actual dinner. So for my husband I just threw a steak in the broiler for a little bit & called it good. Thank God he’s a very simple man, and when I say that he’s a simple man – I mean he’s satisfied eating plain chicken breast and broccoli every single night.  I just can’t. He & I are pretty much opposites, but it’s good because we even each other out. I am not picky or particular about food – you put it in front of me & I’ll eat it! I guess that’s the “filipino” in me. I also prepared a salad tonight, now – my husband HATES brussel sprouts with a passion. I’ve tried several times trying to prepare them in different ways to try to get him to like them & he’s just stubborn. So, I had an idea; I had found a salad recipe that used fresh brussel sprouts that were finely chopped.  I figured he wouldn’t notice that they were in there & that I could later feel victorious in knowing that I had successfully fed my husband brussel sprouts. Well, it didn’t go as planned, my mother came in & ended up eating all of the salad before I could get his plate together.  It was THAT good. Now I didn’t follow the complete recipe that I found via Pinterest, Sugar and Grace. I made it my own and it was perfect! 

Brussel Sprout & Kale Salad
1 handful of fresh brussel sprouts
3 handfuls of fresh kale
4 bacon strips cooked & chopped
1 avocado
1 clove garlic minced
1/4 cup evoo
1 freshly squeezed lemon juice
1 tbsp dijon mustard
Pepper

I went ahead and cooked up my bacon strips until they were nice and crispy. While they were cooking I had chopped my brussel sprouts & kale nice & thin. Then I just threw everything into a salad bowl & just tossed it until everything was incorporated.  It was so yummy!

image

Next time though I’ll make sure I make enough for my husband. I’m determined to break his hatred for brussel sprouts!

What are some of your favorite salad recipes? Or ways to prepare brussel sprouts?

Tagged , , ,
